Animal Pillow

DIY Animal Pillow

After I gave birth to my son, I attended a new mommy class offered by the hospital and became friends with a few other moms who gave birth around the same time.  A few weeks ago, we decided to meet up at the park for a little birthday gathering.  I wanted to give the babies a small birthday gift, so I made these animal pillows.  They are cute and super soft, perfect for cuddling!

I don’t have downloadable patterns or detailed instruction, but they are really easy to make!  I’ll just show you pictures of how cute these are.

Materials:

  • 1/4 yard print flannel (pre-washed)
  • 1/4 yard solid flannel (pre-washed)
  • Polyester fiberfill
  • Thread
  • Patternmaking paper (I used freezer paper)

Steps:

Draw your pattern on the patternmaking paper, add a 1/2″ seam allowance and cut it out.

DIY Animal PillowPin pattern to fabrics and cut out front & back pieces.

DIY Animal Pillow

DIY Animal Pillow

With right sides together, sew with 1/2″ seam allowance all around, leaving a 6″ opening.  Flip pillow right-side out and fill with polyester fiberfill.  Then hand stitch pillow to close.

DIY Animal Pillow

Done!

DIY Animal Pillow DIY Animal Pillow DIY Animal Pillow DIY Animal Pillow

Isn’t this super easy?  The hardest part for me was coming up with the pattern and drawing it on the paper.  You can see from the first couple pictures how I have pencil marks all over!

What animals will you try to make?

DIY Animal Pillow


Photos taken by Vean Chen

Leave a Reply

