Full Day of #ShopSmall on #SmallBizSat

Shop Small Logo

November 29, 2014 was American Express Small Business Saturday, when Amex gives you a $10 statement credit for each small business purchase over $10 that you made on that day.  Steve and I set out to visit some local businesses.

Si Si Cafe

We started off the day with a visit to the local coffee shop for a morning drink and pastry.  We pass by the cafe all the time but never visited despite living so close!  It’s a nice and cozy coffee shop where the locals hang out, and I’m glad we came to check out the place.  I’ll be sure to come back again!

Kara’s Cupcakes

We then headed to Kara’s cupcakes and bought some mini cupcakes:  Sweet Vanilla, Chocolate Velvet, Sweet Chocolate, Meyer Lemony Lemon, Pumpkin Spice.  They are delicious!

Five Little Monkeys

We couldn’t just eat all day so we went to shop for a new toy for our baby and he loves it!

Bakesale Betty

This is the second time I’ve came here.  Actually, it’s my third time, but the first time they sold out of the famous fried chicken sandwich so I ended up leaving without getting anything.  The second time I went earlier and was able to try out the chicken sandwich.  Buttermilk fried chicken and jalapeno coleslaw wrapped in a slightly toasted sandwich bun, topped with some homemade buffalo sauce.  This time we also got two large cookies (oatmeal raisin cookie & pecan shortbread cookie), they were equally delicious!

Bakesale Betty

Here’s the recipe if you want to attempt the sandwich yourself.

Pacific Cookie Company

We just couldn’t get enough cookies so we got a dozen:  Cahootz, Chocolate Chips w/ Walnuts, Almond Joe, Mint Condition.  I personally love Cahootz and Chocolate Chips w/ Walnuts, but they are all so good that I had to limit myself to no more than two cookies a day.

Purple Kow

By this time we’ve stuffed our faces with food, food, and food, so it’s time to call it a day with a cup of milk tea.  I’ve heard of Purple Kow when it first opened in San Francisco, but never went there because I’ve heard about the hour-long wait.  The one in Berkeley just opened up recently and I was hoping the wait would be more manageable.  Luckily there wasn’t much of a wait.  I had the large size oolong milk tea with boba, pudding, and grass jelly.  It was a huge drink and it was very flavorful!

Purple Kow

It was a fun day filled with tasty foods and treats, at the same time supporting local small businesses and trying out new places.  I will be looking forward to next year’s small business day.  In the meantime, I’ll be returning to these small businesses often.


Photos taken by Vean Chen

Leave a Reply

