Blueberry Mango Smoothie

It’s been so hot in the Bay Area these past days, I can’t believe it’s already September!  When I was packing for the LA road trip, I realized I had a big box of blueberries that I was not going to be able to finish.  Instead of taking it along for the trip (because I’ve got a truckload of snacks already), I decided to freeze them.  Blueberries freeze pretty well, they don’t stick together after freezing (just shake the container a few times to loosen up the blueberries).  I also have some mangoes that I froze awhile back (mangoes do stick together, even though I spread out the pieces on a baking sheet to freeze before combining them into a container, they still end up sticking together after I consolidated them).

For a hot summer day like this, it’s the perfect excuse to enjoy a glass of cold healthy smoothie to cool myself down.  The best part about this is that both blueberries and mangoes freeze well, so you can make this any time during the year!

Blueberry Mango Smoothie

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1/2 cup frozen mango
  • 1 cup nonfat yogurt
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon honey

Blueberry Mango Smoothie

Isn’t the color just beautiful?  Enjoy and stay cool!

P.S.  If you have any suggestions on how to freeze mangoes so they don’t stick together, please let me know!


Photos taken by Vean Chen

Leave a Reply

