Banana Kale Smoothie

Banana Kale Smoothie

Ever since my friend introduced me to kale 2 years ago, I’ve been addicted to it.  I even have kale plants in my raised bed to prove it!  When my friend introduced me to kale, she was pregnant and explained to me that kale is packed with folic acid, which is great for the baby’s brain development.  Check out this link to read more about the health benefits of kale.

I usually cook kale in pasta, it makes my pasta using store-bought pasta sauce more gourmet.  Recently, all these juicing shops are popping up in San Francisco and green smoothie is suddenly the new buzz word.  I had always avoid green smoothie because I don’t like the vegetable taste in my drinks.  My first taste of V8 tomato juice from long time ago is what I think of green smoothies taste like (Yuck!).  But another friend of mine told me that you can bare;y taste kale in a smoothie.  So I went ahead and add a bit of kale in my fruit smoothie and was surprised to find that it actually tasted good!  So whenever I have kale that are about to go bad, I would add them to my smoothie and drink it up.

bananakale04

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups kale (washed and stems removed)
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1 cup nonfat yogurt
  • 1/2 cup nonfat milk

Mix all ingredient, blend until smooth.  Drink right away!


Photos taken by Vean Chen

Leave a Reply

